Nonfiction Monday: Moonshot: The Flight of Apollo 11

Do you ever gaze up at the moon and wonder what it would be like to walk on it?  In the late 1960’s, the Apollo 11 made it possible for two men, Neil Armstrong and Edwin “Buzz” Aldrin, Jr to do just that.  Moonshot:The Flight of Apollo 11 by Brian Floca is one of four CYBILS NFPB nominations about space.

 Floca’s illustrations and poetic text captures this historical moment in a way that will ignite readers’  imagination about returning to the moon.  Floca’s use of perspective in his illustrations such as just as the astronauts about to lift off to the scene in the spacecraft with everything floating in space to Armstrong looking back at the earth gives the reader a sense of “being there.”

Indeed, those thoughts are echoed by Michael Collins, Command Module Pilot, Apollo 11, “Reading Moonshot gave me the feeling I was back up in space.”  Readers young and old will experience that as well.

It begins:
“High above
there is the moon
cold and quiet,
no air, no life,
but glowing in the sky.”
Here below
there are three men
who close themselves
in special clothes
who-click-lock hands
in heavy gloves,
who-click-lock heads
in large, round helmets…”

The front end papers include lots of diagrams about the rockets and other equipment while the back end paper includes an author’s note with detail information about the historic flight.  This is a stunning book which makes a historical event accessible to younger readers. It just might inspire some to become astronauts.

I have a particular bias about books about space and space travel.  As a child, I was deeply interested in all the space events as well as looking to the night sky. I was in Avignon, France when Apollo 11 landed. I was 16.  It’s an area of science that has captivated my imagination.  Hopefully, Moonshot will spark a child’s interest in space.

Hey, only 4 more days until the CYBILS Shortlist of finalists will be announced. I am biting my tongue to keep quiet!

Happy Reading!

MsMac

2 thoughts on “Nonfiction Monday: Moonshot: The Flight of Apollo 11

  1. I loved this book and, unlike you, I never had a particular interest in space–this book captured me with the lovely and fun language and the drama, and I felt like I understood something about WHY people are fascinated with space exploration that I never got before. Definition success on the part of this book…

  2. Pingback: Non-Fiction Monday: Sibert Medal Honors Two of the CYBILS NFPB Finalists « Check It Out

Comments are closed.