Poetry Friday: I’m Hosting Today

Welcome to Poetry Friday.  I am hosting so please leave your links in the comments and I will post.

My aunt, my mentor, passed away on Sunday.  She lived a full life at 91 and had been ill since last fall. We talked weekly and I will miss that.  This week, this poem by Jane Kenyon has been on my mind:

Let the light of late afternoon
shine through chinks in the barn, moving
up the bales as the sun moves down.

Let the cricket take up chafing
as a woman takes up her needles
and her yarn. Let evening come.

Let dew collect on the hoe abandoned
in long grass. Let the stars appear
and the moon disclose her silver horn.

Read the rest of the poem HERE.

I am putting this up early for those early birds.  Please leave your links in the comments. I will put them up through out the day.

Today we have originals:

Gotta Book is “Sleeping In”

Poem Farm “First Grade Poets”

Laura Salas “15 Words or Less” poems

Gathering Books “A Girl Name Alice”

Wild Rose Reader “Rhubarb”

 A tribute to Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec at The BALD EGO Blog

A poem inspired by one of Father Goose’s son’s ink drawings at The FATHER GOOSE Blog

Some Blues:
Tabatha Yeats “I Ain’t Broke, But I’m Bad Bent”

Some fabulous poems:

Dori Reads “The Oven Bird”

Across the Page “Robins”

Laura Salas “Summer”

Literate Lives “Emma Dilemma”

Charlottes Library “Mother Goose”

Kurious Kitty Tongue twister poems 

Kurious K’s Kwotes’ P.F. quote is by William Blake

My Juicy Little Universe “On the Menu for School Today”

Janet Squires “Falling Down the Page”

Karen Edmisten Potpourri of poems

Father’s Day Tributes and Other Celebrations:

Carol’s Corner “Thinking about My Dad”

Ruth “Those Winter Sundays”

Jama Rattigan “Like Father Like Son”

The Stenhouse Blog “Dressing My Daugthers”

Debbie Diller “The Gift”

A Year of Reading “Happy Birthday Mom” 

The Write Sisters Celebrating Sir Paul’s Birthday

Poetry Thoughts, Announcements, and Reviews:

Blythe Woolston “Doggerel: Constraint and Play”

Secrets and Sharing Soda Like Pickle Juice on a Cookie

Robyn Hood Black “Poetry Retreat and Wolves”

Random Noodling  “Kids of the Homefront Army” A New Blog 

Picture Books and Piroutte Highlights Magazine “Summer Dance”

Jeanine Atkins Frost Place and Other Wonders of New Hampshire”

I’ll return later for new additions. UPDATE:  After 8 PM (PST), it’s been a long day…end of school year and my email was hacked.  I think I got everyone and apologize if I met someone.