Poetry Friday: Haiku Society of America Publishing Opportunities

The first Friday of August. Oh, my! Yesterday the mail deliver my treasured newsletter “Ripples.” It’s the newsletter of the Haiku Society of America (HSA).

Haiku is alive and well throughout the United States. What a great organization because of the opportunity for publishing and the commitment to inform all ages about haiku. What I like is that the organization goes beyond the 5-7-5 format of haiku which is the way I learned haiku.

One of the contests I am interested in is the HSA Contest for the Best Unpublished Haibun. Haibun is a combination of prose and haiku, usually with a haiku at the end. The entries need to be in hand by August 31, 2012. You may submit up to three entries, no more than 1000 words each. There is an entry fee of $3 per haibun for members and $5 for nonmembers.

Here’s a great quote from one of the HSA chapters: Northwest Haiku site and this quote:

“In our poems and discussions, the group tries to get beyond the cloud of surface facts, to see the deep stillness within the everyday.”

—Anne
I really like the last part of that quote: to see the deep stillness within the everyday

I will try to see the deep stillness everyday. Will you?

More information can be found at the HSA website and their Facebook page.

Poetry Friday is hosted by On The Way To Somewhere. She’s also hosting a poetic caption contest.

Happy Reading.
MsMac

20120803-094118.jpg

4 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: Haiku Society of America Publishing Opportunities

  1. Thanks for sharing this, Jone. I love haiku! The haiku I write for children’s markets always adheres to 5-7-5, since that’s what publishers look for since that’s how it’s taught in schools. In a way, I think it’s a shame, but in another way, I think that syllabel structure helps kids write. Giving them definite, countable limits sometimes leads to brilliance! (Well, and other times not so much.) Either way, the best haiku do capture that deep stillness, don’t they? Pat Lewis’ Black Swan, White Crow is one of my very favorite haiku collections…

Comments are closed.