Double Dactyl! I Wrote One!

Tricia proposed that we write a “double dactyl” poem at Poetry Stretch .She stretched me. I did it. Quality not guaranteed.

Thanks to the new Skippyjon Jones book, Lost in Spice, for inspiration.

holy guacamole
Judy Schachner author
Siamese cat chihuahua
Skippyjon plots

he bounces big boy bed
closet is planet Mars
perritos amigos
book checked out lots

Whew!

More can be found at Miss Rumphius Effect.

Happy Reading.

MsMac

Sharon Creech Evening

DSC_0031
Getting her new book, An Unfinished Angel, signed.

Sharon Creech visited Portland, Oregon on Tuesday! What a great evening. She talked about her writing life, how  she gets her ideas from words, poems, and everyday events. Still thinking about her comment that two poems collided together and thus Love That Dog was born.

Her new book, An Unfinished Angel, began with a story from her granddaughter: “Once upon a time in Spain, there was an angel and that angel was me.”   Creech’s story takes place in Switzerland.  Her blog, Words We Say, has videos about her writing process as well as some wonderful photos of the setting of the book. 

DSC_0029
My friend, Kathleen, doing Readers’ Theater with Sharon Creech and her new book.

I just had to buy the book after listening to an excerpt in Readers’  Theater form.  Laugh out loud funny but you know there is some serious in it.

DSC_0044I read the part of “Gramps” in Walk Two Moons.

An inspiring moment came when I participated in a “Readers’ Theater” for Walk Two Moons.  Now, I know about RT but haven’t gotten into doing them. However, being on stage, reading, and seeing how simple it is, I have ideas for my reader awards books this year.

What have you been reading?

Happy Reading.

MsMac