Poetry Friday: “Awakening to Snow”

My copy of A Year Full of Poems is my new go to book for Poetry Friday.  For all my snowed in friends this morning:

Awakening to Snow

Blades of light slide under my eyelids
and prise them open to discover
softness.
This is whisper day, muffled in deep down
of eiderdown snow, day of
those other echoes and shadows on frosted window-panes
that pass by furtively, wondering…

read the rest here.

What a neat find. 

My answer to the Poetry Stretch: “shadorma”  found here.

Thank you, Tricia, for hosting Poetry Friday.

Happy Reading.

MsMac

4 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: “Awakening to Snow”

  1. “Today is hushed blue day of nothing, of
    empty footprints where feet were,
    of absence.”

    We only had an inch here, but wow, how perfectly it captures everything. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Lovely poem, but beyond my experience down here on the Gulf Coast. I found your blog through Mother Reader’s comment challenge. I’ll check back tomorrow for non-fiction Monday.

Comments are closed.