Poetry Friday: Dwell in Possibility

 I discovered this Emily Dickinson poem this week.  Our school levy election is upon us for early February.  Without it over our district budget cuts will add up to 38 million dollars.   Last spring my library media  budget shrunk by half.

I hope the voters will “dwell in possibility” and get the levy passed the first ballot.

I dwell in Possibility–
A fairer House than Prose–
More numerous of Windows–
Superior–for Doors–

Of Chambers as the Cedars–
Impregnable of Eye–
And for an Everlasting Roof
The Gambrels of the Sky–

Of Visitors–the fairest–
For Occupation–This–
The spreading wide my narrow Hands
To gather Paradise–

-Emily Dickinson

The award-winning Liz Garton Scanlon is hosting Poetry Friday here.

Happy Reading.

MsMac

8 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: Dwell in Possibility

  1. These budget cuts are getting personal now, aren’t they? I stopped by my library the other day, and the librarians are miserable with the announcement of the next set of drastic cuts in materials and staff.

Comments are closed.