Who’s Reading What Wednesday

It seems as though the weeks fly by and I haven’t posted my regular Wednesday post.  I decided in January to read all the 2010 Newbery contenders before the award was announced.  I was envious of the Ohio gathering to compare notes and celebrate the honors bestowed on January 18.  Am going to figure out a way to get a group in the Portland area next year to make predictions.

Soo…I have read the following books:

Love, Aubrey by Suzanne M. La Fleur.  Perhaps my favorite read thus far.  I love the idea of the letters that Aubrey is writing and am particularly interested in the handling of grief in this book.  La Fleur never is preachy and yet you feel the loss suffered by Aubrey.

The Small Adventures of Popeye and Elvis by Barbara O’Connor was a fun read.  It was a nice change of pace from Love, Aubrey.  O’Connor is one of my favorite new authors, having just read How to Steal a Dog for our regional readers’ choice awards.

All the Broken Pieces by Ann E. Burg was incredible.  I love the free verse format.  I know those Vietnam vets, how troubled some of them returned.  It really tugged at me.

Anything but Typical by Nora Raliegh Baskin. Wow.  I could not put this down either.  Glad that I wasn’t on a Newbery committee.  Tought choices.  I think it would make a terrific read aloud. So much to talk about.

I am in the midst of Wild Things and have Also Known as Harper, The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate (on CD to listen to and from work), and When You Reach Me as well as Captain Nobody.

What are you reading these days?

Happy Reading.  And thankfully, our levy passed yesterday WOOT!

MsMac

2 thoughts on “Who’s Reading What Wednesday

  1. I’m reading an adult thriller called The Siege, by Stephen White. It’s funny – I used to read KidLit for a break, now I read books published for adults for a break from the kidlit.

    I also just finished an upcoming YA SF title called The Web of Titan (sequel to the Comet’s Curse). Always happy to find interesting YA SF.

    Happy reading!!

Comments are closed.