Poetry Friday: Ralph Fletcher Poem and Interview

Today in honor of having Ralph Fletcher, here is one of his poems and an interview with him.  It’s going to be a great day.

Weeds

by Ralph Fletcher

Weeds in the sunlight,

swaying in the breeze.

Weeds pollinated by

hordes of hungry bees.

Weeds softly whispering,

spilling secret seeds.

Weeds multiplying:

weeds, weeds, weeds.

Dandelion, ragweed,

Queen Anne’s lace.

Weeds in my dreams,

weeds in outer space.

Weeds on vacation

but more staying home.

Sneaky little weedlings

sprouting in this poem!

© 2010 Ralph Fletcher. All rights reserved.

What have you recently published and what are you currently working on?

I am working on four different books (yikes!) including a novel for kids, and a poetic picture book about the wind.

What books are on your nightstand?

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins. (I just finished Hunger Games–this is the sequel.) Very intense–I wouldn’t recommend it to elementary school readers.

Where do you find inspiration?

Everywhere: my own kids, things I see, memories, other books, newspaper articles, my own imagination.

What was your favorite book as a child? As an adult? Any particular genre stand out?

I read a lot of sports books. I didn’t have one book that was a favorite but read a lot of Jack London.

Writing the first draft or revising? Which is your favorite?

Both are important. Revision can be painful (tedious) but it’s crucial.

Favorite time of the day to work?

I write every morning at 9 am.

Chocolate: white, dark, or milk?

Dark chocolate

Coffee or tea or —?

Coffee. A latte, if possible.

Dance Funky chicken or the tango?

Alas, to my wife’s great regret (and this is one my failings as a human being), I’m not much of a dancer. Instead, I try to make my words dance on the page.

All the other delights of Poetry Friday are being rounded up at Laura Salas’ Writing the World for Kids.

Have a great Friday.  I know we will.

Happy Reading.

MsMac

3 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: Ralph Fletcher Poem and Interview

  1. Jone, hope things calm down soon! What a wonderful poem. Just goes to show that we can write fun poems about anything! I esp. love:

    Weeds softly whispering,

    spilling secret seeds.

    And I’m glad Ralph has trouble naming a particular favorite book, too. That ? always stumps me.

    Thanks for the poem and interview. Happy Poetry Friday!

  2. Jone, I hope you are feeling better. Ralph succeeded in making his words sing in this poem. Thanks for the interview, too.

    Laura Evans
    all things poetry

Comments are closed.