48 Hour Reading Challenge: The Finish Line

Done. Completed.  Better than last year. 

Last year  I was traveling. I forgot to say I was in on the challenge nor did I sign out.  But this year I did.  Last year I read 4 of the 6 books planned.  Last year I read a total of  559 pages.  I didn’t blog or tweet last year while reading. 

Hours of reading: 15
Hours of blogging/tweeting, etc: 2
Books read: 6 plus a smidge
Pages: 923
Charity donation: $25.00
Charity: Fanconi Anemia Research Fund ( in remembrance to my friend’s son who lost his life to this terrible disease and in hopes they find a cure for her other son graduating from college this month).

Definitely improved from last year.

Thoughts about this weekend’s book selection:

I finished with Ellie McDoodle: New Kid in School by Ruth McNally Barshaw and got to page 29 of  The Magic Half by Annie Barrows.  Ellie McDoodle is a very fun book that anybody who loved Diary of a Wimpy Kid with probably love this (especially the girl readers).  It is a combo of cartoon like illustrations and text featuring a girl who has moved and is adapting to her new school.  It is very humorous.

Just started The Magic Half, a story about a girl stuck in the middle of two sets of twins.  I just reached the part where she travels back into time.  Again, another story about moving, getting used to new surroundings and wanting to fit in. 

It’s interesting that the Sasquatch nominees for this year are heavy into girl MC.   I like reading these books this time of year so that I have a good idea in how to promote them in September.  Of the books listed below, I think only four will have great appeal to boys: Found, Knucklehead ( a memoir), Leepike Ridge (which I may start to read tonight) and Simon bloom, the Gravity Keeper.  The Lemonade War might appeal to boys with the brother-sister rivalry.  But the list seems to lack a wow factor for all readers.  I just know there were great books written in 2007-2008 that should have made this list.

Title Author
The Magic Half Barrows, Annie
Ellie McDoodle, New Kid in School Barshaw, Ruth McNally
The Lemonade War Davies, Jacqueline
Diamond Willow Frost, Helen
The Truth about Horses, Friends, & My Life as a Coward Gibson, Sarah
Found Haddix, Margaret Peterson
A Friendship for Today McKissack, Patricia
Simon Bloom, the Gravity Keeper Reisman, Michael
Knucklehead Sciezka, Jon
First Light Stead, Rebecca
Leepike Ridge Wilson, N.D.
42 Miles Zimmer, Tracie Vaughn

 A big thank you to Mother Reader for once again organizing this event. It really is fun.  Now I am off to figure out a nonfiction book for Nonfiction Monday and to read some more.  I hope next year I break the 1000 page mark.  Congrats to other finishers.

Happy Reading.

MsMac

3 thoughts on “48 Hour Reading Challenge: The Finish Line

Comments are closed.