Poetry Friday: Ted Kooser

I am reading The Poetry Home Repair Manual by Ted Kosser for my in depth summer poetry study.  I found this great website and this poem.  It reminded me the night before we left California; there were birds chirping all night long except they weren’t owls.  It was amazing.

Screech Owl

All night each reedy whinny
from a bird no bigger than a heart
flies out of a tall black pine
and, in a breath, is taken away
by the stars. Yet, with small hope
from the center of darkness,
it calls out again and again.

~~Delights & Shadows

I am playing with the abecederian poem, or poem constrained by alphabetical order at Deowriter.  Poetry Friday is hosted by Amy at Poetry Farm. Thanks, Amy.

Happy Reading.

MsMac

4 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: Ted Kooser

  1. I love that you’re taking on an in-depth poetry study for the summer…I may follow suit. Thank you for sharing this one!
    A.

Comments are closed.