Nonfiction Monday: Silk and Venom: Searching for a Dangerous Spider

I am on vacation and it ends today as I travel back home.  While on my trip, I have enjoyed reading Silk and Venom: Searching for a Dangerous Spider by Kathryn Lasky, photographs by Christopher G. Knight.  It’s a fresh look at spiders for 2011.

I love spiders. I am intrigued by them. So this book had me at its title.  The text is written in such a way tha Lasky pulls readers in on her journey. Both she and Knight were invited to join Greta Binford, a arachnologist and professor at Lewis and Clark College, Portland, Oregon (my ala mater) to go with her to search for the Loxosceles tanio in the Dominica Republic.

The book’s photographs is rich and detailed.  There is a vast array of spiders that I had not heard of before.  For example, have you every seen a close up of the spiny orb weaver?  It looks like an alien spaceship. 

Greta is a fascinating scientist. Lasky has written and engaging and informative text for any young aspiring arachnologist.   Readers learn of the process she uses to capture the spiders, her questions about how and when the Loxosceles made it to the North American continent. The end material includes  a pictorial glossary of spiders, websites to check out and index.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

ATTENTION!!

The 5th Annual Kidlit Con Blogging Conference registration is now open.  You can find details HERE. I will do a post some time this week.

Nonfiction Monday is at proseandkahn.  Head over there to see what others are saying about great nonfiction books.

From the road,

MsMac

 

One thought on “Nonfiction Monday: Silk and Venom: Searching for a Dangerous Spider

Comments are closed.