Poetry Friday: Robert Burns

Robert Burns was born 25 January 1759  and died  21 July 1796 in Ayrshire, Scotlland.  A hundred years later, my grandfather would be born in the town of Ayr. I wrote about my grandfather’s collection of Burns books HERE.  Next Wednesday will be the day in 1759 that Burns was born. 

 To honor this poet, a poem by the Bard of Ayrshire. It comes from the website Robert Burns Country.

Up In The Morning Early

 1788
Type: Poem

 Cauld blaws the wind frae east to west,
The drift is driving sairly;
Sae loud and shill’s I hear the blast-
I’m sure it’s winter fairly.

Chorus.-Up in the morning’s no for me,
Up in the morning early;
When a’ the hills are covered wi’ snaw,
I’m sure it’s winter fairly.

The birds sit chittering in the thorn,
A’ day they fare but sparely;
And lang’s the night frae e’en to morn-
I’m sure it’s winter fairly.
Up in the morning’s, &c.

Poetry Friday Round-up is at Wild Rose Reader.

Happy Reading.

MsMac

6 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: Robert Burns

  1. While I confess to not resonating too well with old English – it does have its own old-world charm that brings a sense of peace. Thank you for sharing Robert Burns this week and yup, your grandfather’s collection of his books. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Comment Challenge 2012 – GatheringBooks Dives In – A Running Update «

  3. Even though I’m not sure I have ever heard this song before, I can imagine the tune! It sings.

    Neat family connection!

Comments are closed.