Poetry Friday: Original Haiku

We  had light snowfall all week.  Not enough to close school but enough to be  magical.  I have teaching  second and third grade haiku. (which much will be published in April). 

 Here are two I wrote as models:

Snow morning arrives
Snowflakes dance on tree branches
Tea water boils

Morning birds’ chorus
amid the snowflake flurry
spring song forgotten

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Sign up NOW  to Receive a Poetry Postcard!

APRIL IS POETRY MONTH!

This is the SIXTH year of the Postcard Poetry Project. Holy Moley!

THE POETRY POSTCARD PROJECT IS BACK

Would you like an original poem delivered to your mailbox instead of a bill? 

Email me your address at macrush53 at yahoo dot com.

I will send you an original student written poem.

WHERE IN THE WORLD ARE THOSE POSTCARDS GOING?

 

Poetry Friday is held at Dori Reads (http://dorireads.blogspot.com/).

3 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: Original Haiku

  1. The poems you wrote touch some new ideas in my head: “tea water boils” and “spring song forgotten”. I never thought of it quite as you did. I think I will ask for a postcard this year. It’s a wonderful idea! As the school’s lit coach I usually do something with poem in your pocket day-fun to give poems out on that day! Thanks for stopping by my post!

Comments are closed.