Poetry Friday: Why I Am Happy

Last week, my plan was to attend a William Stafford event but the water main at our house decided to burst. Thus, our weekend was spent at our daughter’s house. Oldest grandgirl was over the moon.
I found this poem in the local newspaper with details about events. It’s lovely. Maybe next year I will get to an event.

Why I Am Happy

Now has come, an easy time. I let it
roll. There is a lake somewhere
so blue and far nobody owns it.
A wind comes by and a willow listens
gracefully.
I hear all this, every summer. I laugh
and cry for every turn of the world,
its terribly cold, innocent spin.
That lake stays blue and free; it goes
on and on.
And I know where it is.

— William Stafford

Poetry Friday is held at HERE.

20130117-175954.jpg

Happy reading.
MaMac

5 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: Why I Am Happy

  1. Sorry you didn’t get to your event, but it sounds like you had one of your own. Hopefully that water main is all fixed and live goes happily on? Thanks for sharing this on Poetry Friday.

Comments are closed.