It’s Monday…What Are You Reading?

20130218-071346.jpg

In 2008, I was in the midst of taking the national boards for my teacher certification in library. In order to prepare for part of the exam, I immersed myself in Newbery Award audio books.

This meant listening to HATTIE BIG SKY by Kirby Larson. If you haven’t read it, run to your nearest library or books store and get it to read. I love historical fiction and stories of resilient young women.
Women with big dreams so this was a perfect book. I remember finishing it and wanting more. What would Hattie do next, I wondered. So I wrote the author and asked that she write the sequel. She politely responded and said she didn’t think that there would be a sequel.

But
Guess
What?

THERE IS!

20130218-071432.jpg

I just finished HATTIE EVER AFTER, the sequel. It doesn’t disappoint. We find Hattie pondering what to do. Go to Seattle, stay in Montana or choose to do something a bit exciting? When Hattie finds herself on the road to San Francisco with a traveling vaudeville act, Hattie discovers she might have that opportunity to pursue her journalism. It’s the early 1900’s and opportunities for young women are limited. And what about Charlie?

Loved it and hope you will too.
What are you reading? Find out what others are reading HERE.
Don’t forget to for a chance to win a copy of The LATE BIRD by Greg Pincus by commenting HERE.
Happy Monday.
Happy Reading.

MsMac

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday…What Are You Reading?

  1. Hi there Jone. I really feel that I’m missing out on so much by not having read the Hattie books yet. Will find it in our libraries. 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

  2. Love the story about your letter to Kirby Larson. Perhaps she received many? And love that you liked the sequel-can’t wait. I do have The Late Bird already, so don’t put me in the mix-it’s great!

  3. Can’t wait to read this! I loved Hattie Big Sky so much I campaigned to have Kirby as our keynote speaker for SCBWI Southern Breeze, after having the pleasure of meeting her at another SCBWI event. The stars aligned for it to happen last year, and she – of course – was beyond wonderful. Thanks for celebrating the sequel!

Comments are closed.