Poetry Friday: Poetry Pairings

20130906-091637.jpg

This year I am trying something new. I want to incorporate more poetry throughout the year so I am pairing poems with books, thus “Poetry Pairings.”

This week, I am reading Each Kindness by Jacqueline Woodson. Do you know the book? Each kindness done and not done affects the world. I found a great poem to pair with this story: “Something I Did” by Janet Wong. Both speak to friendship.

Something I Did

Something I did
made Alex
not like me.
Something I did —
but what?
If Alex would tell me,
if Alex would say–
then maybe
we’d fix things
and
we could play
together
at recess
like we used to do.
What did I do wrong?
I wish I knew.

By Janet Wong
Poetry Friday Anthology, K-5 Edition

Poetry Friday is hosted by Laura Shovan at Author Amok.

Happy Poetry.
Happy Reading.

MsMac

8 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: Poetry Pairings

  1. Hi there Jone, I just read “Each Kindness” to my teacher-students last week and they were very moved by it. Thank you for letting me know about Janet’s poem, I agree that it’s a beautiful pairing to the picture book. 🙂

  2. Great match-up! I hadn’t heard of this book (or the Jane Addams awards, which I discovered when I looked up Each Kindness) but I was happy to learn about them. Liz’s idea about history pairings sounds like a nice project, too.

Comments are closed.