Poetry Friday: Poetry Pairing

20131226-155321.jpg

Thank you Mary Lee for hosting the final Poetry Friday of the year.

It’s almost time to reveal the CYBILS poetry finalists so stay tuned on Wednesday, January 1, 2014 for the big announcement.

It’s Poetry Pairing Day this Friday. I have a poem from Poems to Learn by Heart, edited by Caroline Kennedy. It can be paired with Carole Boston Weatherford’s Birmingham, 1963.

Ballad of Birmingham
BY DUDLEY RANDALL
(On the bombing of a church in Birmingham, Alabama, 1963)

“Mother dear, may I go downtown
Instead of out to play,
And march the streets of Birmingham
In a Freedom March today?”

“No, baby, no, you may not go,
For the dogs are fierce and wild,
And clubs and hoses, guns and jails
Aren’t good for a little child.”

“But, mother, I won’t be alone.
Other children will go with me,
And march the streets of Birmingham
To make our country free.”
The rest may be read HERE.

Such powerful images in both books.

Happy Poetry.
Happy Friday.
MsMac

3 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: Poetry Pairing

  1. This is a perfect pairing! Hmm…this would be a fun activity for the first week back — find a poem to go with a nonfiction book you’ve been reading. Thanks!

    (I was just having fun with the snowfall on your blog! With my mouse, I can change the direction of the snowfall!!)

Comments are closed.