Poetry Friday: That Time by Linda Baie

Poetry Friday is hosted by Irene Latham at Live Your Poem so be sure to hop on over and see all the wonderful poetry.

This summer I have participated in the Summer Poetry Swap, facilitated by Tabatha Yeatts.  Such great fun and it has pushed me.  Last week I received this poem from Linda Baie.

Jone

That Time

On summer afternoons, that shimmering sunshine
send playmates hurrying,
under the lilacs, into the shade.

Young girls in cotton dresses giggle,
as one brings out a Big Chief tablet and a pencil,
reporter in charge.

Each whispers a rule.
and promises a bond,
the first of many
among little girls.

Linda Baie, 2014© all rights reserved”

*(I realized the poem wasn’t showing well after I published the post so I included it for easier reading.)

I read this poem and wondered, “How did Linda know about my childhood?”  You see, I had a really good friend, her yard looked like the photo, and we did create and make-up stories.  Often about fairy tales and fairies.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

WANTED: Panelists and Judges for the CYBILS Poetry AWARDS!  More information HERE.

Google application HERE.

DEADLINE?  Friday, September 5, 2014.

Happy Friday.

Happy Poetry.

