Poetry Friday: A Google Hang-Out with Janet Wong

IMG_1077

Today Poetry Friday is hosted by Margaret at Reflections on the Teche.  Thanks, Margaret.

On Wednesday, Janet Wong held a much anticipated Poetry PD training for teacher librarians at my school.  At the end of last school year, copies of The Poetry Friday Anthology: Celebrations were purchased for each elementary school.  It took all year but our group finally got to have an hour with Janet.

She went through a Powerpoint with tips on how to infuse poetry into our thirty minute time slots.  On teacher library said this:

“It gave me really useful information and ideas for using the poetry anthology, and it was a really needed tonic: real literature for kids, connected to the standards, will easily relate to the rest of the staff.
I have missed the literature side of our mission .. this was inspiring.”
At the very end, she asked if we needed any poems.  I suggested something around our Digital Citizenship curriculum from Common Sense Media. 
Janet is amazing and awesome because about an hour later I had two poems for our group. With her permission, I am sharing one.
Sharing
by Janet Wong
At home
my mother scolds me
because I do not like to share
my toys.
In class
my teacher scolds me
because I do not like to share
the markers.
But here in the library
our librarian tells us
to keep our passwords secret.
No sharing allowed!
The library is my favorite place.
Thanks, Janet.  This gives me a jump off point for some other digital citizen poems.
and keeping the ripple effect of poetry…more posts:
Happy Friday.
Happy Poetry.
13 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: A Google Hang-Out with Janet Wong

  1. Yay for the ripples you are creating Jone… and Janet and everyone! The world wide web makes it easier than ever to ripple… makes me happy. Thank you! xo

  2. Thank you, Jone, for hosting me for this Teacher Librarian inservice via Google Hangout! I love every opportunity to spread the word about how poetry makes it easy to teach the standards (and to enjoy literature at the same time)!

    • Thank you, Linda! We’re hoping that schools will put our children’s editions on their Summer Learning lists (maybe THE POETRY OF SCIENCE for kids who love STEM) and hopefully they’ll get passed around in summer PD sessions too!

  3. Sending a virtual group hug to you and Janet. She’s one of my heroes, so gentle and generous. I love how she can just whip out poems for any purpose.

  4. Finally getting around to read some more Poetry Friday posts, Jone. Thanks for the shoutout. I love listening to Janet and using the Poetry Friday Anthology. I’m hoping you send me an offering for Spring’s Seeds.

Comments are closed.