Poetry Friday: The Late Edition with Be Glad Your Nose is on Your Face by Jack Pretlusky

IMG_1077

Poetry Friday was hosted by Violet with a fabulous recap of Poetry Camp.

On Thursday, I came home from school and after dinner instead of writing my posts (one for Deowriter), I fell asleep.  And Friday was just a busy day at school.  I can usually squeeze in the writing of the posts as I usually know what I’m going to post but that was not to be yesterday.

Oh, it’s been quite a week.  Attending Poetry Camp last weekend was one of the highlights of 2016.  Being in the company of almost forty poets left my heart full.  One of the best parts of the weekend, was listening to Jack Pretlusky who was the first Poet Laureate for Children.  He rarely performs anymore so it was a real treat.

20161001_163720

I was delighted to hear him perform the following poem.  Some of my Poetry Rocks kids have performed it.  I can’t wait to share the video with them.

Be Glad Your Nose Is on Your Face
Be glad your nose is on your face,
not pasted on some other place,
for if it were where it is not,
you might dislike your nose a lot.
Imagine if your precious nose
were sandwiched in between your toes,
that clearly would not be a treat,
for you’d be forced to smell your feet.
Your nose would be a source of dread
were it attached atop your head,
it soon would drive you to despair,
forever tickled by your hair.
The rest of the poem is HERE
***********************************************************************

CYBILS Update:

Nominations for the CYBILS are open until next Saturday, October 15, 2016.  To date, Poetry has twenty plus nominations.  We’d love to have more!  Please nominate HERE.

Need some ideas?  Visit this post at Poetry for Children.  Happy nominating.

Happy Friday.

Happy Poetry.

 

