Poetry Friday: Still I Rise by Maya Angleou

IMG_1077

Jama is graciously hosting Poetry Friday with a poem of hope.  We need these poems to end a week of dark and sadness.

I’ve spent this week focusing in on kindness and the beauty of small things.  We will drive to the coast  for the holiday and load up on negative ions (See Here).

Maya Angelou’s Still I Rise has been in my head and heart all week especially, the first and last stanzas.

Still I Rise

You may write me down in history
With your bitter, twisted lies,
You may trod me in the very dirt
But still, like dust, I’ll rise.

Leaving behind nights of terror and fear
I rise
Into a daybreak that’s wondrously clear
I rise
Bringing the gifts that my ancestors gave,
I am the dream and the hope of the slave.
I rise
I rise
I rise.

The poem in its entirety is HERE.

These are words which soothe my soul this week.

Happy poetry.

Happy Friday.

12 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: Still I Rise by Maya Angleou

  1. This same poem has been going through my head too, Jone. I had cited Maya’s words in my original post (had Hillary won). You probably remember she supported Clinton in 2008.

  2. Appreciations Jone. Not only is this the balm we need at this time, but also tailored additionally to my soul because I was fortunate to hear Ms. Angelou perform this poem in Tallahassee in the 1980s. Your post lifts me back to that moment, a true gift. I hope your coastal trip is soothing.

  3. They are beautiful words for all, Jone. It has been a week to grasp whatever good things we can hold onto. Thanks for sharing.

Comments are closed.