Poetry Friday: Kindergarten Poetry

IMG_1077

Thanks to  Jama at Jama’s Alphabet Soup who’s hosting Poetry Friday.

I’ve been working with a kindergarten class on writing poetry.  We started with a group poem based on “Step Outside, What Do I See?” by Alan Wolf and “My Rock” by Ken Slesarik.

Students observed rocks.

Our first draft:

20170413_151501

I posted on Twitter and Carol V. asked a great revising question: “What do the students wonder?”  So our next meeting we revised:

The final version:

Rocks by Room 207

When I look at a rock|
I see
shapes in it and holes in it
Colors, rainbow colors, a train,
sometimes symbols, and crystals

When I touch a rock
I feel|
hardness and smoothness
straight and rough, sharp, smooth, soft
Slippery, muddy and dirty

And I feel
Nervous scared
because it might move

I wonder this
if you look away
will it move?
If you look at it
will it stay still?

I wonder
if  they fall by themselves
if it will play with me
if when you sleep, it stays still
if it will hurt or if it’s poisonous

I wonder
if it’s hot like a lava rock

If you see a rock
you go under your bed
It finds you
And jumps
on your head.

Next week, I’ll share more individual poetry from this class.

