Poetry Friday: Kinder Fibonacci

IMG_1077

Thanks to Tara at A Teaching Life for hosting Poetry Friday.

Over the past few weeks, I’ve been working in a kindergarten class on different poetry forms.  We tried the Fibonacci form with a small tweak.  Instead of the typical 1-1-2-3-5-8 syllables, we wrote them with 1-1-2-3-5-8 words.  Here are a few.

Earth
By Elecia

Earth
I’m
going to
help the plants
We can help the earth
I’m going to help the earth get healthy

++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Planet
By Alyssa

Loves
Planet
Help the world
Throw away the plastic garbage
I feel happy for fantastic planet earth.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Friends
By Kingston

Friends
Class
Have fun
Play at recess
John, Daniel, Yelisy, Matthew, Autherius
I like all my friends at school

++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Bedroom
By Brooke

Bed
Room
Bed, dresser
Dad moved them
I like where they are
My room looks so good.  It’s cool.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Bedroom
By Maria

Clean
Tidy
Bedroom
Make my bed
Try to keep it clean
I will try to make my bed daily.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Mom
By Vivianah

Mom
Rose
Love my mom
Plants smell beautiful
I love my mom she’s
the very best in the whole wide world.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Planet
By Autherius

Planet
Earth
Save water
I like it
It’s our planet, our home
The earth is a good place to live

++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Earth
By Anthony

Earth
Day
Help earth
Pick up trash
Fun to turn off lights
Make plants and more trees. Grow fun stuff.

 

9 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: Kinder Fibonacci

  1. I love that there’s a ‘Friends’ poem tucked away in here. It could almost sneak into the pages of ‘Too Many Friends’. 🙂

    I’ve featured Avery’s posy of poetry on my blog today, from the Silver Star Poetry Project. I know the kids would gain so much from this project – but it is pure delight for the recipients!

  2. What a good idea to go with words for the kindies Jone. These show much thought from your lesson.

  3. When I saw the title of your post, I couldn’t believe you would be able to teach this form with kinders, what with the syllable counting and all. Great adaptation to count words! You really made it work!

Comments are closed.