Poetry Friday: Hosting, The Kyrielle, and Poetry Month Announcement

I look forward to the prompts each Monday at The MissRumphius Effect.  This week it was the Kyrielle – a kyrielle is divided into couplets, each pair of lines ending with the same word which acts as the refrain.

Well, I racked my brain (some weeks they pop right in and other not so much).  

 Ode to Poetry Friday

Winter poems, spring poems, poems for today
come along, play along, it’s Poetry Friday

Old favorites, poetry stretch, original word play
Share one, share two it’s Poetry Friday

Some interview what poets have to say
others review the latest on Poetry Friday

Don’t be shy, linger awhile, and enter the fray
I’m rounding  up links, it’s Poetry Friday

Leave your link, don’t delay
Will post them in a blink, it’s Poetry Friday

I have three more poems at Deowriter.

Other Kidlitosphere poems to read can be found here:

The O’Dark-Thirty Crowd (PST)

Laura at Author Amok: “Birmingham, 1963” — Carole Boston Weatherford’s picture-book in verse about the Civil Rights Era church bombing that killed four young girls.

Jeannine Atkins blogged about writing poetry from history, and how it’s a bit like making soup.

Jama at Alphabet Soup is sharing Taylor Mali’s “The the Impotence of Proofreading.”

Linda has an original poem, “After the Storm.” 

Happy Birthday, Irene, who is sharing a e.e. cummings poem, “So Many Candles”.

Jenni Bell has an original poem, “Ritual.”

Lauara Salas presents “Slobbery,” from her poems about pets book. Some people have written some fabulous 15 Words or Less poems at http://laurasalas.livejournal.com/201906.html. It’s not too late to join in!

Jim Danielson is  checking in with an original olympic haiku.

Mary Lee at A Year of Reading has some song lyrics that “spoke” to her this week.

Janet at Across the Page shares a Linda Pastan poem called “What We Want.”

Tabatha Yeatts  posted about her daughter’s family poetry project.

Sally at PaperTigers shares Maira Kalman and her Max books.

Elaine at Wild Rose Reader got her Internet back in time to give us an original acrostic titled MARCH.

Karen is in with a poem from Thomas Merton. It’s here

Sara checks in with some Seuss love and thoughts on “serious play.

The Book Maven brings us her first contribution to Poetry Friday after reading the posts for awhile.

Mid-Morning Break

Martha C.  has Charlotte Zolotow’s “No One Would Believe.”

Kim of Portland offers “The Tongue”.

Tiel Aisha Ansari has written and original sonnet  Butterfly Watching .

Ruth is thankful for surviving and earthquake and shares a Wallace Stevens poem HERE.

Christine is sharing part two of an original poem by her  daughter, putting a new spin on Alice in Wonderland.

Tricia has the poem “Birds Small Enough” by Donald Revell.

Father Goose posted the “The Smell of Old Books” at FATHER GOOSE blog.

Cazzy Librarian is mourning the loss of her cat HERE.

Today at TeachingAuthors, April Halprin Wayland shares a “very, very, VERY rough draft” of an original Question Poem in her Writing Workout.

Kelly has “Percy Bysshe Shelley‘s Lines: The Cold Earth Slept Below”. 

Evening Dessert

Tanita has more winter poetry.

Breanne has a discussion of using poetry circles much like literature circles HERE.

Amanda has a review of Think Again, a collection of poems, over at my blog, A Patchwork of Books.

Another birthday has Stacy thinking about middle age with the poem, “Crossroads” at Some Novel Ideas. Have a wonderful day on Saturday, Stacy.

Anastasia has a Community Helpers book for PreK-1: Police: Hurrying! Helping! Saving! by Patricia Hubbell, as a 6 traits writing model (for grades 2 and up.)

Anne Shirley is in her brand new home, with a favorite poem by Wallace Stevens: “The House Was Quiet and the World Was Calm.”

Elaine honored her mother who turned 92 on Wednesday with a poem at Blue Rose Girls. The poem is titled “February Twilight” and was written by Sara Teasdale.

At Random Noodling I look at the new issue of Prune Juice.

Kurious Kitty looks at After Frost: An Anthology of Poetry from New England.

At Kurious K’s Kwotes you’ll find a quote by Robert Frost.

Nicole has a post about Willy Wonka. 

I think I got everyone who commented.  After the mid-morning break, school got wild.  Had a book discussion group for lunch. Discussed  The Thief Lord with 8 boys and 1 girl.  Very fun.

APRIL IS POETRY MONTH! 

THE POETRY POSTCARD PROJECT IS BACK

Would you like an original poem delivered to your mailbox instead of a bill?  Email me your address at macrush53 at yahoo dot com.  I will send you an original student written poem.

Please leave you links in the comments.  I will try to update throughout the day(may not be in a blink) between classes.

Happy Reading. 

MsMac

51 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: Hosting, The Kyrielle, and Poetry Month Announcement

  1. Pingback: Poetry Friday: Maira Kalman

  2. Thanks for hosting, Jone!

    I’m in with “Slobbery,” from my poems about pets book, at http://laurasalas.livejournal.com/202013.html.

    And people have written some fabulous 15 Words or Less poems at http://laurasalas.livejournal.com/201906.html. It’s not too late to join in! (In fact, I still need to write one:>)

    Love your kyrielle. I wanted to write one this week, but somehow the week got away from me! Poetry Friday definitely deserves poems in its praise!

  3. Pingback: Martha Calderaro

  4. I’m in with more winter poetry.

    I envy you your Kyrielle. I really wish I could pull myself together to do the poetry stretches again, but my attempts are unpublishable, and I just never do.

    I really like the form, though, so must try this one. Thanks for hosting!

  5. Jone,

    Apropos of Jama’s funny post and desire for people to tell her about typos in her writing, I would like to ask that you change me from Mary to Mary Lee in your post. (I’m picky about that — I’ve never been Mary. Thanks for humoring me!)

    🙂

  6. Thanks for hosting Poetry Friday. I’m not officially blogging for Lent, but I do have a poetry project of my own that I’m working on for April.

    I thought since you enjoy poetry that I’d invite you to contribute your list of favorite poems to my survey. Read more about it here: http://www.semicolonblog.com/?p=9520

  7. Hi! We had a terrible storm here in southern NH on Thursday night with gale strength winds. The power was out for 13 hours and my internet finally came back a few minutes ago (Saturday at 5 pm). My blogs posted automatically, but I never got to the Round-Up! If it’s not too late, here’s what I have to share:

    At Random Noodling I look at the new issue of Prune Juice.

    Kurious Kitty looks at After Frost: An Anthology of Poetry from New England.

    At Kurious K’s Kwotes you’ll find a quote by Robert Frost.

  8. Pingback: Reading and Literacy News | Scrub-a-Dub-Tub, a Reading Tub Blog

  9. Pingback: Poetry Friday {A Moment With Winter} » [fiction, instead of lies]

  10. Pingback: Poetry Friday: What We Want « Across the Page

  11. Pingback: Poetry Friday: The Old Gumbie Cat | The Cazzy Files

  12. Pingback: Children’s Literacy and Reading News Round-Up: March 1 | Book(re)Marks

  13. Pingback: Poetry Friday: Slobbery (by me) | laurasalas: writing the world for kids

Comments are closed.