Poetry Friday: November Funk

It’s November.  Funky November.  Its darkness and gloom seem to hold me captive.  I am trying to break loose of its grip.  Writing seems at a standstill.  My aunt said last night, you have to find something to make you laugh out loud and it can’t be school.

While I was figuring out my escape and what to share for “Poetry Friday”, I stumbled across an old favorite Writing Toward Home: Tales and Lessons to Find Your Way by Georgia Heard.  Her beginning quote from Basho, provided me light today:

“The moon and sun are eternal travelers. Even the years wander on.
A lifetime adrift in a boat, or in old age leading a tired horse into the years,
every day is a journey, and the journey itself is home.”

 

I am going to spend some daily time with Writing Toward Home.  Re-reading the contents, I am reminded of some rich places on the journey.  Places which invite me to read such as these chapters:

 “An Angel on My Shoulder”
“Writing is Like Making a Tortilla”
“Finding a True Reader”
“Digging Up the Earth”
“Whispering in the Air”

So I have given myself some homework for November and the days left:

Read Writing From Home
Find things to laugh out loud about.

Poetry Friday is at Random Noodling. Thanks, Diane And apologies as I cannot get links to work today.

Happy Friday.

MsMac

One thought on “Poetry Friday: November Funk

  1. I also have Writing Toward Home. I bought it when it was first published. I did many of the exercises years ago. I pulled it off my shelf about a month ago and started reading it again. I really love that book!

Comments are closed.