Welcome to Poetry Friday

Are you out shopping? Are you staying home?  No matter,  Poetry Friday is here.  I’ll admit I am going to sneak out for a little Santa shopping.  Please enjoy the poems gathered here.

My poem speaks so clearly about November. It’s from the book A Year Full of  Poems; a collection by Michael Harrison and Christopher Stuart-Clark:

No!

No sun–no moon!
No morn–no noon!
No dawn–no dusk–no proper time of day–
No sky–no earthly view–
No distance looking blue–
No road–no street–no “t’other side this way”–
No end to any Row–
No indications where the Crescents go–
No top to any steeple–
No recognitions of familiar people–
No courtesies for showing ’em–
No knowing ’em!
No traveling at all–no locomotion–
No inkling of the way–no notion–
“No go” by land or ocean–
No mail–no post–
No news from any foreign coast–
No Park, no Ring, no afternoon gentility–
No company–no nobility–
No warmth, no cheerfulness, no healthful ease,
No comfortable feel in any member–
No shade, no shine, no butterflies, no bees,
No fruits, no flowers, no leaves, no birds–
November!

Thomas Hood

I am looking forward to checking back in and seeing what others have posted.

Happy Friday.  Happy Reading.

MsMac

17 thoughts on “Welcome to Poetry Friday

  1. Pingback: Poetry Friday: “Ice” by Marilyn Singer

  2. Hahah! I love that poem. It makes me think, “No Hope !” But, November does give way to December… and on and on, so there’s hope in there somewhere.

    I’m up with a little Poe, speaking of being totally depressing. 🙂 Happy Digestion Day.

  3. Tanita, thank you for linking me, you sweetheart! I posted right before bed last night but didn’t get over here to link until this morning.

    Jone, I adore this November poem. Somehow I didn’t see the ending coming—and then it all made sense. I’m a fan of Thomas Hood but I’d never seen this one.

    Thanks for hosting!

  4. Many thanks, Jone, for hosting today (especially considering that you are also knee-deep in CYBILS leadership). And thanks for this great November poem. Happy shopping– hope you find lots of great deals! I’m in with a silly after Thanksgiving poem…

  5. Thanks for doing the roundup this week! I hope you had a grand Thanksgiving.

    At Wild Rose Reader, I have Two Poems Two Ways. I rewrote two of my “things to do” poems as mask poems. I’d like to get people’s opinions about which version of each poem they prefer.

    http://wildrosereader.blogspot.com/2010/11/two-poems-two-ways.html

    At Blue Rose Girls, I have A Poet, A Poetry Panel, A Poetry Stretch, An Original Poem.

    http://bluerosegirls.blogspot.com/2010/11/poet-poetry-stretch-original-poem.html

  6. Pingback: Rasco From RIF » POETRY FRIDAY: AUTUMN MOVEMENT

  7. Hello to all! Hope your Thanksgiving Day was joyful and you will continue to have a special time as the weekend progresses.

    I have chosen a Carl Sandburg poem AUTUMN MOVEMENT which expresses for me what I have seen and felt happening these past few days! POETRY FRIDAY: Carl Sandburg captures one effect of the cold winds being exerienced in parts of the country. http://bit.ly/eAy19y

    Thank you, Jone, for hosting us!

Comments are closed.