Poetry Friday: Twenty Six Acts

kindness
random acts
honoring those lost

20121226-210739.jpg

I am sure many have heard about the twenty-six act of kindness started by Ann Curry. It’s been on my mind and this week I decided what I would do to participate.

You see, there are a lot of poetry books, sent by publishers for the CYBILs. I usually share with other schools but not this year. This year, I will pass them out with the following note:

To honor the children and adults of Sandy Hook Elementary whose lives were taken too soon, please accept this random act of kindness. I love poetry and want to share it with others. This poetry book was nominated for the 2012 CYBILs Poetry Award (http://www.cybils.com/).

The principal, Dawn Lafferty Hochsprung, loved reading and to inspire her students she dressed as a book fairy in October. Please share this book with someone or a school.

You are number ___ in honor of ________________________________

Wishing you joy, love and peace this holiday season. Please keep the kindness going!

#26acts #26actsofkindness http://www.facebook.com/26acts

I started on Christmas when we stopped at a Starbucks. By the time I left, a mother was reading to her daughter. I am in Medford this Friday and will include my grand girls in the giving.

As Ann Curry says, “Are you in?”

Poetry Friday is being held at Carol’s Corner.

20121226-210838.jpg

Happy Reading.
MsMac

4 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: Twenty Six Acts

  1. I love this idea! I don’t have 26 poetry books to give away (I got most of my CYBILS books at the library) but I could definitely print out 26 poems and scatter those around Denver. Hmmm.

  2. I don’t have 26 books either but I am giving most of what I have. Then I will pay the library fines of a couple of students to make up the rest.

Comments are closed.