Poetry Friday:

Today from Susan Taylor Brown whom I interviewed on WEDNESDAY.

From Susan:This is a poem I wrote about my experience of having a hummingbird build a nest in my backyard, lay two eggs, and then, have the eggs stolen from the nest just before they were due to hatch. The experience took place across a few short weeks and absolutely broke my heart.

  

13 Ways of Looking at a Hummingbird

 1

wings whirl

in place

my face

smiles

swivels

tiny dancer

chirps

cheeps

chitters

hello

 

2

greengold glitters glides

lands atop the waterfalls

shimmy shakes

a water dance

 

3

spider silk

blades of grass

lichen

moss

one gray hair

two red threads

building blocks

a mini mansion

 

4

picture pose

turn left

now right

chin up

hold still

I’ll keep my distance

 5

in out

out in

tall wall

soft floor

ready wait

wait some more

egg one

egg two

soon

each morning

each evening

I check

just in case

 

6

the plum tree a

perfect preening place

ruffled nest feathers

bugs picked flicked

feathers smoothed

stretch once

stretch again

bask in the sun

before babies come

 7

stormy days

stormy nights

quivery

shivery

forgetting generations

that came before

I worry

flashlight in hand

 8

she disappears deep

within the overgrown honeysuckle

seeking bugs

protein power

for motherhood

alone

I measure

one nest

one half a walnut shell

one egg

one jellybean

one miracle

waiting to happen

 

9

my days equal

part

inspection

observation

research

photographs

my days equal

bliss

 

10

camera ready

I await her homecoming

hidden only slightly behind the fence

fifteen minutes

two hundred photographs

my mini model

is a star

 

11

morning comes

empty

no mama snug atop her nest

no tiny eggs safe and sound

no babies waiting

to say hello world

sometime between

the darkness and dawn

disaster

 12

overcast and gray

rain soon

but I am stubborn

searching beneath the bushes

until I find evidence

until I find a tiny white shell

until it hits me

miracles don’t always come true

 

13

crying

crying

crying

camera clicks

shot after shot after shot

most will be out of focus

unable to capture the pain I feel

at all the days that should have been ahead

suddenly suspended beside me

close enough to almost touch

no chirp

no cheep

no chitter

she hovers there

ten seconds maybe more

just long enough

to say goodbye

 

 —Susan Taylor Brown, all rights reserved

 

Thank you, Susan. I so love hummingbirds and feel your loss with Lucy and her nest.

 

Poetry Friday is at A Year of Reading.

School’s out today.  Happy Reading.

MsMac

 

6 thoughts on “Poetry Friday:

  1. Sad, but how it goes in nature…the other story perhaps being of another animal bringing home much needed food for her young…but still to us. A sad story well told; each segment indeed a poem on it’s own. Thanks for sharing!

  2. This is wonderful. I love the way the poem is about the hummingbird, but it’s also about the looking, and the lookER is such a vivid presence all the way through. I love “mini model.”

Comments are closed.