Poetry Friday: Distracted and a Blog Break

20140710-212154.jpg

Poetry Friday round up is hosted at The Opposite of Indifference.  Thanks, Tabatha.

Distracted

I am
distracted
cleaning the refrigerator,
cleaning out photos,
watching the constant retelling of deadly
events on the news,
watching the birds flit
here and there
listening to the click, click, click, click,
of my dog’s nails on the wood floors,
listening for peace,

My writing
awaits me
in between the calls
to the doctor,
the pre-op hospital nurse,
and friends.

I am distracted
and writing
waits like
the smooth river stone
until I return.

So you might know that I am having left rotator cuff surgery on Monday.  It’s been five and a half months of dealing with shoulder pain.  And it’s been a huge distraction for me.  I have know idea about the recovery time.  I am left handed.  I need to be patient with myself during the next few weeks.

I will be taking a blog break until the last week in August when I host Poetry Friday. And start thinking about poetry books or serving on the CYBILS poetry panels…late August we will be ramping up again.

 

Happy Friday
Happy Poetry.

12 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: Distracted and a Blog Break

  1. I love the image of writing waiting “like a smooth river stone.” Beautiful! Take care. Wishing you a speedy recovery.

  2. Best of luck to you and wishes for fast healing. My favorite part: “watching the birds flit
    here and there
    listening to the click, click, click, click,
    of my dog’s nails on the wood floors,
    listening for peace,”

  3. You know I’ll be thinking of in the most positive way, Jone. Glad you wrote this. Hope the distractions helped. “listening for peace” kind of says it all, doesn’t it?

  4. Jone, I can feel your distraction coming through your poem, rightfully so because of the upcoming surgery and the peace you seek. Stay the course. I had knee replacement last year and during recovery I had to distract myself by focusing on as many as I could find to strengthen my leg. Positivity rules. When your flow comes back, the smooth river stone will will no longer drift.

  5. Yes, I, too, am distracted from my writing. Good luck with the surgery, and keep reminding yourself to be patient.

  6. Hello there Jone. I didn’t know you were suffering from shoulder pain. Speedy recovery to you, dearest. And yes, I can feel the truth of your poem. I am devastated as well by world events.

Comments are closed.