Poetry Friday: Community

Welcome to Poetry Friday which is being held at Buffy’s Blog.  Thanks, Buffy.  This is our school garden. It’s been a several year project coming to fruition by a fabulous committee, the donations for Home Depot, and parents who will care take over the summer.  It was my inspiration for writing some garden poems recently.

20140627_103433

Community

We
planted
a garden
of sunflower
seeds, peas, and beans. Each
row different. We
learned about dirt. It felt
damp, silky smooth with wiggly
worms. We watched as seedlings sprouted
like little edible tree forests.
We planted a garden. Community.

©Jone Rush MacCulloch, 2014

20140627_103513

Happy Friday.

Happy Poetry.

5 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: Community

  1. Pingback: It’s Poetry Friday! | Buffy's Blog

  2. Community gardens are growing everywhere. Wish I had one at my school, but I don’t have the expertise to take the lead. Actually, I’m quite the black thumb. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Oh what a great poem, and Mary Lee’s right, it’s great to have people looking after it during the summer. My husband worries about his tiny plants when we leave home for quite awhile. 🙂

Comments are closed.